I Was Absolutely, Positively Wrong!

Recently, I wrote a piece in which I wondered “Is The Fast Track the Right Track for Luke Weaver”?  I questioned the accelerated movement of Weaver from his first appearance in Double-A on June 4th, to his MLB debut on Saturday, August 20th, and also offered an opinion that if I were making the decision-I would start Alex Reyes; instead of Weaver.

One of my better qualities is my ability to accept responsibility and to be able to admit whenever I am wrong.  I was wrong!  Weaver was outstanding in his MLB debut against the Chicago Cubs.  Weaver worked four solid innings in his debut, allowed four hits, two earned runs, walked three, and struck out three.  His only bad pitch, his only mistake, was a second inning pitch to Chicago’s Addison Russell which went over the left field wall, also scoring Ben Zobrist.  Rather than being devastated by the Russell homer, Weaver threw two more innings and showed great poise, determination, and grit.  Like I wrote, “I was wrong”!

Also impressive was Reyes’ three innings of one-hit baseball in which he allowed one walk and, like Weaver, struck out three Chicago batters in earning his first MLB win, in just his second MLB appearance.

I have written several times this season of what I describe as the consistently inconsistent Cardinals of 2016.  I have even written the only thing consistent about the 2016 edition of the Cardinals is their inconsistency.

After dropping the first-two games of the four game set with the Cubs the Redbirds claimed the next two games by the score of 8-4 on Saturday and 6-4 on Sunday.  I think the effective pitching on Saturday of Weaver, Reyes, Seth Maness, and Zach Duke, coupled with the offensive life of the Cardinals’ bats as they manufactured eight runs, served as a catalyst in the Cards’ taking the last two games of the Cubs’ series.

I am a pragmatist and a realist; I believe the St. Louis Cardinals are still in the hunt for post-season play.  I experienced the magical 1964 season as well as the 2006 and 2011 seasons.  Baseball teaches us that often it is the team which gets hot at the right time which finds success.

At the start of play on Tuesday, the Cardinals are tied with the Miami Marlins for the second Wild Card berth; one game in front of the Pittsburgh Pirates.  The Los Angeles Dodgers enjoy a +3.5 game lead in the first Wild Card spot.

Welcome to the “show” Luke Weaver!  Look for much in the way of success from Reyes and Weaver as we transition to the stretch drive.

Thanks for reading!

Jim Tsapelas is a featured author at Baseball Thirty.

One thought on “I Was Absolutely, Positively Wrong!

Leave a Reply

