Wish I Had Taken The Time To Enjoy It More…

By: Paul DiSclafani

AP Photo
AP Photo

As the Mets get ready to defend their National League Championship, I look back at the amazing August and September run, the NLDS, NLCS and World Series and I just wish I had taken the time to enjoy it more.

I mean, I went to every home playoff game. Saw every pitch of every postseason game and got to share the experiences with my kids, my family and friends.  But in looking back, I didn’t give myself a chance to actually enjoy it.  Most of us were too caught up in the excitement of what was happening to even grip the actual accomplishment of being in the World Series. How may World Series have we, as Mets fans, watched over the years and wished our team could be in there?

Of course, in New York, we always have to live with the specter of that “other” team in the post season year, after year, after year, that sometimes we are anesthetized by it all.

But here we were, in the World Series. The Mets – OUR Mets – in the World Series!

I guess it is kind of like experiencing a great ride at an amusement park. While in the middle of it, you’re caught up in what’s going on at the moment.  The ups and downs of the roller coaster, the loops, the reverse spins.  It’s hard to actually enjoy or appreciate what is going on while you are in the moment.

You may have been holding your breath, or closing your eyes or wondering ‘Why on Earth would I do this to myself?’ while on the ride, but once you get on, you can’t get off.  You need to just roll with it until the ride comes to an end.  Although you may not have realized it at the time, in the moment, but you were enjoying yourself the entire time.

But if it is a great ride, when it is all over, you can’t stop talking about it with the other people that you just experienced it with. “Remember that first drop?  I thought I was going to pass out!  And what about when we went into the tunnel and couldn’t see anything!”

The experience is what you remember. And with any great ride, we all have the same thought – I can’t wait to do THAT again!

I recently saw a video that was posted of the celebration in Chicago after the Mets swept the Cubs in the NLCS.  It not only brought back all the memories of that moment, but it made me realize what a fool I may have been for not enjoying the moment properly.

The pure joy, the unbridled enthusiasm, the shouts of “World Series”, the Mets fans remaining in the stands as the team came back out onto the field smoking cigars to shower them in champagne. Those fans were enjoying the moment, for sure!

You know, we Mets fans don’t have a lot of experience in the postseason. I guess I was so caught up in the moment, that I truly didn’t enjoy it as much as I should have.  It was so life-and-death that, in the moment, I couldn’t relax and enjoy it.

But I’m really enjoying it now! As Spring Training begins, things are a little different down in Port St. Lucie for the Mets.

There is a little swagger in these Mets and a lot more confidence. That attitude is rubbing off on us fans.  We are actually looking forward to the season, instead of just Opening Day when we are the Kings of being 1-0.

So join me, my fellow Mets fans, in looking back and thoroughly enjoying the last half of the 2015 season and what we accomplished. I know I wished I had taken the time to enjoy it more while it was happening.  I am certainly going to take my time and enjoy this season.

As you slowly approach the front of the line for that roller coaster, as you are winding your way through the long line that in baseball is called the regular season, you start to get that feeling in your stomach.  You are not sure if it is being nervous or being excited because basically, it’s the same feeling.  But when you finally get into that car and they strap you in, you find out exactly what emotion you are feeling.  If you can’t wait for the ride to end, you are nervous.  But if you can’t wait for the ride to begin, you are excited.

They are strapping me in and I know I’m excited, what about you?

If you like what you read, you can see additional posts from me on the site A View From The Bench.

2 thoughts on “Wish I Had Taken The Time To Enjoy It More…

Leave a Reply

